Skip to main content
01 Apr 2019

Registration opens for 11th edition of Creative Sports Award

Held under the umbrella of the Mohammad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives, the call for nominations for the 11th edition of the Creative Sports Award was launched today. Summer Olympic IFs have until 31 August 2020 to apply with outstanding “projects, programs and initiatives that contribute towards the empowerment of societies through the values of Tolerance and Knowledge Management in the world of sports or any other area approved by the Award’s Board of Trustees” for the prestigious award.

The exact timelines, with the respective projects to be completed between 1 September 2018 and 31 August 2020, are as follows:

  • Start date for receiving applications - 1 April 2019
  • Last date for receiving applications - 31 August 2020
  • Arbitration and Selection of Winners - October 2020
  • Announcing the winners - 27 November 2020
  • Award Ceremony - January 2021

Click here to read the full, original press release by the organisers.


About the award

Since 2013, Summer Olympic IFs have been invited to participate in the Creative Sports Award. It is designed to celebrate and encourage initiatives, projects and programmes that demonstrate outstanding creativity and contribute to the enrichment of sport.

Each year ASOIF members can submit one entry for the award, with each submission examined in relation to the award criteria by a group of referees appointed by the Award’s Board of Trustees. The winning IF is presented with a US$250,000 prize for use in its development activities.

During the last edition, which focused on the topic of empowering youth in sport, UWW received the award for its innovative project “More than Medals”, the first cornerstone of the IF’s new wrestling development plan. Other previous winners include UCI, BWF, IJF, FIH and FIFA. Read more here.