Skip to main content
12 Jan 2018

Total prolongs BWF sponsorship to 2021

Total, the international energy giant, is to sponsor badminton’s new World Tour after it sealed an extension to its deal with the Badminton World Federation.

Total, which has sponsored the BWF since 2015, is to continue as the federation’s official energy partner and is to act as an official sponsor of the remodelled BWF Tour and the BWF World Tour Finals, in an agreement running to 2021.

The deal also includes title sponsorship of all BWF major events such as the Sudirman Cup, the Thomas and Uber Cup Finals, and World Championships. 

The agreement was brokered by Infront Sports & Media, the sports marketing agency which is the exclusive commercial partner of the BWF until 2025. 

Earlier this week, HSBC, the international financial services company, was unveiled as the title sponsor of the rebranded World Tour in a “landmark deal”. 

Through the agreement, HSBC will have a presence across all of the BWF’s events, including title sponsorship of the World Tour and the World Tour Finals for the next four years.

HSBC's tie-up was negotiated by Infront and IMG, the international sports management company.  

The rebranded World Tour features five different levels of competition and “million-dollar’ prize money for each of the top four events.

It replaces the BWF's four-tier structure of competitions, and the showpiece World Tour Finals will have a shared jackpot of $1.5 million.

The BWF has chosen Guangzhou in China as the host of the next four editions of the World Tour Finals, from 2018 to 2021.

The BWF World Tour will be structured as follows:

• HSBC BWF World Tour Finals (Guangzhou) 
• HSBC BWF World Tour Super 1000: Three events (China, England and Indonesia) 
• HSBC BWF World Tour Super 750: Five events (China, Denmark, France, Japan and Malaysia)
• HSBC BWF World Tour Super 500: Seven events (Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand)  

• HSBC BWF World Tour Super 300: Eleven events (Australia, Chinese Taipei, Germany, India, Korea, Macau, New Zealand, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand and USA