Skip to main content
01 Apr 2021

Fifa unveils venues for 2023 Women's World Cup

Fifa, soccer's international governing body, has announced the host cities and stadiums for the 2023 Women’s World Cup to be staged in Australia and New Zealand.

There will be 10 venues in nine cities across the two countries.

The ninth edition of the Women's World Cup, the first to be held in two countries, will kick off at Eden Park in Auckland on 10 July and conclude with the final at Stadium Australia in Sydney on 20 August.

Last year, the joint bid of Australia and New Zealand was selected ahead of Colombia to host the 2023 Women's World Cup, which will be the first to involve 32 teams, up from 24 in France in 2019.

Australia and New Zealand will host one semi-final each.

The full list of host cities and stadiums is as follows:

  • Adelaide – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland / Tamaki Makaurau – Eden Park
  • Brisbane – Brisbane Stadium 
  • Dunedin / Otepoti – Dunedin Stadium 
  • Hamilton / Kirikiriroa – Waikato Stadium 
  • Melbourne – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 
  • Perth – Perth Rectangular Stadium 
  • Sydney – Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium 
  • Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara – Wellington Stadium 

The full match schedule will be released later this year.

Fifa president Gianni Infantino said: “The appointment of the nine host Cities represents a major milestone for the next Fifa Women’s World Cup 2023, as well as for players and football fans across Australia, New Zealand and around the world. 

“Building on the incredible success of France 2019 both on and off the pitch, the Fifa Women’s World Cup 2023 and nine host Cities across Australia and New Zealand will not only showcase the world’s very best players, but will also provide a powerful platform to unite and inspire people, transform lives and create a lasting legacy for women’s football in Australia and New Zealand and around the world.”

Meanwhile, the National Women’s Soccer League, the top US competition, has secured a new sponsorship deal with online bank Ally.

Under the agreement, the logo of Utah-based Ally will serve as the league's official banking partner, with its logo to feature on the sleeves of all 10 clubs.

USA are the defending world champions, and the league has undergone significant growth since the 2019 World Cup.

The 2021 season gets under way with the NWSL Challenge Cup presented by Secret Deodorant starting on 9 April.